I have to admit it…I’ve been a little lukewarm about Easter this year.  We haven’t been to church in a long time and I’ve been feeling strange about celebrating Christian holidays without the traditional churchy stuff surrounding them.  It was the same at Christmas.  The Santa Claus hype and present shopping were so empty because I wasn’t focusing on the real meaning of Christmas.  At Christmas, I worked through it by deliberately choosing to focus on the birth of Christ and letting the rest of it be icing on my spiritual cake.  I read my Bible for the first time in a long time, did some praying, and really felt the message in the traditional Christmas carols.  It worked, and I celebrated the birth of Christ, not just a cultural holiday.  But the lesson seemed to fade into the background over the next few months, so when Easter started approaching, I was back to feeling that emptiness again. 

This morning, I woke up very early with the Bean so I had a lot of time to think about things.  While I was cuddling and playing with my daughter, my heart was calling out for some answers.  “Remind me why this day is important”, it cried.  “It used to be about more than chocolate.” 

Larry (left) and Bob from Veggie Tales

I decided that it was time to start teaching my daughter about, and reminding myself of, the reason why we keep Easter Sunday and Good Friday sacred.  So I searched Netflix for Easter programs, and, would you believe it, the only ones I could find were Veggie Tales episodes!  If you’re not familiar with Veggie Tales, let me explain.  It’s a cute and smart Christian cartoon featuring – you guessed it – talking vegetables.  Bob the Tomato and Larry the Cucumber are the hosts of the show.  They use bible stories and modern parables to teach moral lessons to kids, and there is usually a joke or comical reference that only adults and older children will chuckle over, just to keep everyone engaged.  I love it! 

The lessons in the episodes we watched today were exactly what I needed.  The moral of the first story, “The Night Before Easter“, was that Easter is about loving and serving each other.   They quoted Mark 10:45 – “For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.”  I took the verse as a reminder that, as a wife and mother, my job is to love and serve my husband and daughter (just as it is my husband’s job to love and serve me and my daughter.  Don’t want to get any feminists on my back – I’m an equal rights kinda girl).  So I continued with my plan to set up an Easter treat hunt, and I made breakfast a little more special.  And it paid off in spades.  The Bean had fun picking up the ducks and eggs I had scattered and putting them in her plush duck Easter basket – for a few minutes at least.  And my Sweetie enjoyed hunting for the hidden treats I’d bought for us to share.  Then we had breakfast together, and I got a huge hug and “Thank You” from my husband.  What a great way to start an Easter Sunday celebration! 

We’re not planning to go to church today, but that’s okay.  I feel like God has touched my heart right here at home.   Instead we’re going to enjoy the company of some wonderful friends and visit a farm in Petaluma.  I’m so grateful for all that God has given me: a loving family, good food to eat, great friends, a beautiful earth to enjoy, and the hope and salvation brought by the sacrifice and resurrection of His Son. 

I was tempted to end by saying “Amen”, but that seemed a little cheesy coming from someone who hasn’t been to church recently.  (wink)  So Happy Easter, and I hope the day brings you hope, peace, joy, and lots of candy!

