I just realized that I didn’t post anything yesterday. It could have to do with taking care of a sick husband on top of the sick child and my own sick self.  It could also have to do with the fact that I actually laid down on the couch and read my novel for an hour and a half.  That felt so good.  I used to read to the exclusion of most other forms of entertainment, but lately I’ve been turning to video games for fun.  I have to say, I still find reading so much more satisfying and relaxing.  And I still ADORE my Kindle.  So, this post is just about:

(courtesy of Wikipedia.com)

On the Kindle: Seductive Poison by Deborah Layton

We chose this book for book club, but unfortunately, I missed the discussion on Tuesday because the Bean and I were sick.  That said, I still haven’t finished reading the book because I’ve been too busy playing CastleVille and Words With Friends, so maybe it’s for the best.

Seductive Poison is the true autobiographical story of a woman who is sucked into the Peoples Temple cult as a teenager, and who becomes one of Jim Jones’ trusted members.  She was one of the few who managed to escape with their lives before the famed mass suicide that coined the term “to drink the koolaid”.

She tells of her troubled youth, her acceptance into the fold, and the good works she wanted to do as part of the People’s Temple.  As Debbie’s story unfolds, she reveals the secrets entrusted to her by Jim Jones, the true nature behind the organization, and the descent of Jim Jones from charismatic leader to depraved tyrant.  She details the various schemes hatched by Jones to gain financial and political power in California and the escape to Jonestown in Guyana when the political environment got too dangerous in the US.

Perhaps the most disturbing part of the story so far (I’m about 2/3 of the way through), is her account of the conditions in Jonestown.  Jones methodically blackmailed, tortured, abused, and brainwashed his people into submission.  Even the small children were subjected to terror and pain in order to control them and punish their parents for even the most minor of slights.  After being duped into traveling deep into the jungle of Guyana, they had no means of escape even if they could work up the will to do it.

I’m very interested to read how Debbie manages to get out of the jungle.  If you’ve ever wondered how on earth people can get fooled into joining a cult like the People’s Temple, this is a great read and a very interesting story, made even more ominous by the fact that it’s all true…at least from Debbie’s perspective.

